Quest for a New Way of Seeing

Giacometti soon went beyond the closed block of the ‘Cube’. As with the search for a path of his own that he had conducted in his youth, in 1935 he pursued his self-interrogation through a number of self-portraits. Here he reinterpreted the “cube”: on its uppermost surface he engraves a self-portrait, while on the adjoining side are lines that suggest the studio in which the ‘Cube’ itself may be seen. It is the ‘Nocturnal Pavilion’, as Giacometti also termed the sculpture: the artist’s workshop and at the same time the head, the locus of his creative imagination. The cube has thus been disassembled, transparently revealing its self-conscious life; and it is this that Giacometti would set out to express in his subsequent works. He sought an art of what Franz Meier called “existential reality” or, as he himself put it, a form that could encompass the “totality of life”. Surrealist “objects”, with their metaphorical modus operandi, could not do this; rather, it could only be achieved by works into which the wealth of visible and experienced reality had flowed. This in turn revealed itself to him primarily in the encounter with other human beings, in his engagement with his model.

Giacometti thus knew exactly what he no longer wanted, and the direction in which his quest should lead ; yet he had no idea how a solution might be found, nor can he have realized that the journey would last twelve years. In the first phase he returned to his earlier attempts at stylization, as can be seen in the self-portrait drawings with their attempt to grasp the living in a combination of organic animation and geometric formal power. It was perhaps the major Cézanne exhibition in Paris and Basel in the summer of 1936 that motivated him to undertake a more fundamental rethink. He now began attempting to capture the “seen” directly. As with Surrealism, the goal was to present an image of that which lies within; yet here we are dealing no longer with a dreamlike fiction but rather with the perception of reality. While in his 1937 work ‘Portrait of the Mother’ he succeeded for the first time in crafting this inner vision, it proved far more difficult to achieve in sculpture. Giacometti returned to the open surface of Rodin, and at the same time embarked on the process of “unlearning”: casting aside the old, familiar forms that had always infiltrated themselves between him and his model and engaging instead with the fluctuating immediacy of the living person before him. The smaller the heads became, the more they exuded the vital energy he was looking for. This process of reduction became more acute when, one evening, he caught sight of his girlfriend far away on the Boulevard Saint-Michel and was affected by her vital presence, immediately, even before he could make out any details. In relation to our field of view, the human figure initially appears tiny: oversized pedestals are designed to convey the sense of scale and distance. Right up until 1946, Giacometti remained enthralled by these microsculptures, and by his inability to capture in sculpture the sudden appearance of a person in the distance.

This period saw a number of experiences in Giacometti’s personal life that had a profound impact on his work. In 1938 he was hit by a car, sustaining an injury to his foot; the resulting stay in hospital was to inspire the work entitled ‘The Chariot’. In 1940 he fled the advancing German armies; the shock of the bombing of a refugee convoy and the severed arm of a victim are evoked in ‘The Hand’ and other sculptures of body parts. These works were not produced until after the war, which he spent in Geneva, and they helped him find his way to life-size figurations and an expressively craggy surface. But it was not until 1946 that remarkably over-explicit, vision-like perceptions of reality, the death of a neighbour, and terrifying dreams led to a breakthrough. Albert Skira urged him to write about his experiences for the journal Labyrinthe; The Dream, the Sphinx and the Death of T. became Giacometti’s key text and one of general importance to literary history as well. Writing it also enabled him to come to terms with the traumatic experience of the sudden death of a travel companion in 1921.

Giacometti Autoportrait

Self-Portrait, 1935/37

Pencil, 49 x 31.2 cm

Giacometti La mere de lartiste

The Artist’s Mother, 1937

Oil, 60 x 50 cm

Giacometti Petite figurine sur double socle

Small Figurine on a Double Pedestal, ca. 1939/45

Plaster, height 9.5 cm

Gift of Hans C. and Elisabeth Bechtler

Giacometti La Main

The Hand, 1947

Painted plaster, height 65.5 cm

Giacometti Tete sur tige

Head on a Rod, 1947

Painted plaster, height 50 cm

< 1 2 3 4 5 >

Auf der Suche nach einer neuen Sehweise

Giacometti ist nicht beim geschlossenen Block des Kubus stehen geblieben. Wie bei der Suche nach einem eigenen Weg in der Jugend, befragt er sich 1935 in mehreren Selbstbildnissen. Jetzt interpretiert er auch den «Kubus» neu: auf die oberste Fläche graviert er sein Selbstportrait, auf der angrenzenden Seite deuten Linien das Atelier an, in dem der Kubus selbst zu sehen ist. Es ist der «Pavillon nocturne», wie Giacometti die Skulptur auch nannte, das Atelier des Künstlers und zugleich sein Kopf, der Raum seiner schöpferischen Vorstellung. Damit ist der Kubus wieder aufgebrochen, durchsichtig geworden auf das seiner selbst bewusste Leben. Diesem will Alberto in seinem weiteren Werk Ausdruck geben. Er sucht eine Kunst «existentieller Wirklichkeit» (Franz Meyer), oder, wie er selbst sagte, eine Form, um die «Totalität des Lebens» zu erfassen. Die metaphorisch funktionierenden surrealistischen «Objekte» konnten dies nicht leisten, sondern nur Werke, in die der Reichtum der sichtbaren, erlebbaren Wirklichkeit eingeflossen war. Und diese zeigte sich ihm primär in der Begegnung mit dem andern Menschen, in der Auseinandersetzung mit dem Modell.

So weiss Alberto genau, was er nicht mehr will, und in welche Richtung die Suche gehen soll. Aber wie eine Lösung zu finden wäre, ist ihm völlig unbekannt, und sicher auch, dass diese Odyssee zwölf Jahre dauern würde. In der ersten Phase knüpft er an die früheren Stilisierungsversuche an, wie die Selbstbildnis-Zeichnungen mit ihrem Bemühen, das Lebendige in einer Verbindung von organischer Belebtheit und geometrischer Formkraft zu fassen, verdeutlichen. Möglicherweise regt die grosse Cézanne-Ausstellung in Paris und Basel im Sommer 1936 zu einem grundsätzlicheren Neubeginn an: Alberto versucht nun, unmittelbar das «Gesehene» zu erfassen. Wie im Surrealismus soll also ein inneres Bild gezeigt werden, aber dieses ist nicht mehr eine traumhafte Fiktion, sondern die Wahrnehmung der Wirklichkeit. Im Bildnis der Mutter von 1937 gelingt es ihm erstmals, diese innere Vision zu gestalten. Wesentlich schwieriger ist es, dies in der Skulptur zu erreichen. Er kehrt zur offenen Oberfläche Rodins zurück und beginnt zugleich den Prozess des «Verlernens»: die sich stets vor das Modell schiebenden altbekannten Formen aufzulösen und sich der fluktuierenden Unmittelbarkeit des lebenden Gegenübers auszusetzen. Je kleiner diese Köpfe werden, um so eher strahlen sie die gesuchte lebendige Energie aus. Diese Verkleinerung verschärft sich, als er eines Abends seine Freundin in weiter Ferne auf dem Boulevard Saint-Michel wahrnimmt und von ihrer vitalen Präsenz affiziert wird, unmittelbar, noch bevor er Einzelheiten erkennen kann. Die Person ist im Verhältnis zum Gesichtsfeld erst ganz klein zu sehen: übergrosse Sockel sollen Massstab und Distanz verdeutlichen. Bis 1946 bleibt Giacometti im Bann dieser Mikroskulpturen und der Unmöglichkeit, in der Plastik das plötzliche Erscheinen eines Menschen in der Ferne zu erfassen.

In diese Zeit fallen persönliche Erlebnisse, die tiefe Spuren in Giacomettis Werk hinterlassen. 1938 wird er von einem Auto angefahren und sein Fuss beschädigt; der anschliessende Spitalaufenthalt 1938 wird ihn zum Wagen inspirieren. 1940 flieht er vor den heranrückenden Deutschen; der Schock der Bombardierung des Flüchtlingszuges, der abgerissene Arm eines Opfers klingen in Die Hand und anderen Skulpturen von Körperfragmenten nach. Diese Werke werden erst nach dem Krieg, den er in Genf überlebt, entstehen und ihm helfen, zu lebensgrossen Figurationen und der expressiv zerklüfteten Oberfläche zu finden. Doch erst das merkwürdig überdeutliche, visionsartige Wahrnehmen der Wirklichkeit, der Tod eines Nachbarn und erschreckende Träume führen 1946 zum Durchbruch. Albert Skira fordert ihn auf, diese Erlebnisse für seine Zeitschrift Labyrinthe zu formulieren; Le rêve, le sphinx et la mort de T. wird zum wichtigsten, auch allgemein literaturhistorisch bedeutsamen Text von Giacometti, in dem er zugleich das traumatische Erlebnis des plötzlichen Todes eines Reisegefährten 1921 zu verarbeiten vermag.

Giacometti Autoportrait

Autoportrait (Selbstbildnis), 1935/37

Bleistift, 49 x 31,2 cm

Giacometti La mere de lartiste

La mère de l’artiste (Die Mutter des Künstlers), 1937

Öl, 60 x 50 cm

Giacometti Petite figurine sur double socle

Petite figurine sur double socle (Kleine Figur auf doppeltem Sockel), um 1939/45

Gips, Höhe 9,5 cm

Geschenk Hans C. und Elisabeth Bechtler

Giacometti La Main

La main (Die Hand), 1947

Gips bemalt, Höhe 65,5 cm

Giacometti TĂȘte sur tige

TĂȘte sur tige (Kopf auf Stab), 1947

Gips bemalt, Höhe 50 cm

< 1 2 3 4 5 >