The Foundation

The Alberto Giacometti Foundation is the leading museum collection of works by the Swiss sculptor, painter and graphic artist Alberto Giacometti (1901-1966).

It was established in 1965 in Zurich by a group of art-lovers including Hans C. Bechtler who had acquired the Giacometti works in the possession of Pittsburgh industrialist G. David Thompson. Thompson had collected a series of key sculptures from the artist’s avant-garde period (1925 to 1934) along with examples of most of his major works from 1947 to 1950, the greatest flowering of his creativity. Giacometti himself contributed some later works of his own, consisting of a group of drawings and several paintings, and in 2006 Bruno and Odette Giacometti presented the Foundation with 75 plasters and 15 bronzes from the artist’s estate.

Today the Foundation holds 170 sculptures, 20 paintings, 80 drawings, 23 sketchbooks, 39 books containing marginalia, and prints, drawn from Alberto Giacometti’s entire creative life, from his earliest efforts to his very last, reflecting every major aspect of his work and affording an insight into numerous surprising facets of his oeuvre.

The bulk of the Alberto Giacometti’s collection is stored at the Kunsthaus Zürich, where it is on permanent display. The Kunsthaus is also home to the Foundation’s administration and documentation. A quarter of the original holdings is exhibited at the Kunstmuseum Basel, and ten percent at the Kunstmuseum Winterthur.


The Board of Trustees

Alexander Jolles
Chairman

Dr. Christian Klemm
Vice Chairman


Rudolf Bechtler

Dr. Christoph Becker
Director of the Kunsthaus Zürich

Dr. Anton Bucher-Bechtler

Annette Bühler

Dr. Josef Helfenstein
Director of the Kunstmuseum Basel

RA Prof. Dr. Philippe Meier

Dr. Dieter Schwarz
Director of the Kunstmuseum Winterthur

Peter Steiner

Dr. Peter Uhlmann
Treasurer


Dr. Philippe Büttner
Managing Director



As of September 2015

Giacometti Selbstbildnis 1921

Self-Portrait, 1921

Oil, 82.5 x 72 cm

Die Stiftung

Die Alberto Giacometti-Stiftung ist die bedeutendste museale Sammlung von Werken des Schweizer Plastikers, Malers und Zeichners Alberto Giacometti (1901–1966).

Sie wurde 1965 von einer Gruppe von Kunstfreunden um Hans C. Bechtler in Zürich gegründet, die die Giacometti-Bestände des Pittsburger Industriellen David Thompson erwarben. Er besass zahlreiche wichtige Skulpturen aus der avantgardistischen Periode von 1925 bis 1934 und Exemplare der meisten Hauptwerke von 1947 bis 1950, den schöpferischsten Phasen Giacomettis. Der Künstler selbst ergänzte das spätere Werk durch eine Gruppe von Zeichnungen und etliche Gemälde. 2006 schenkten Bruno und Odette Giacometti aus dem Nachlass Albertos der Stiftung 75 Gipse und 15 Bronzen.

Heute besitzt die Stiftung 170 Skulpturen, 20 Gemälde, 80 Zeichnungen, 23 Skizzenhefte, 39 Bücher mit Randzeichnungen und Druckgrafik. Dieser Bestand umfasst das Lebenswerk Alberto Giacomettis von seinen frühesten bis zu den letzten Werken in allen wesentlichen Aspekten und zahlreichen, überraschenden Facetten.

Die Sammlung der Alberto Giacometti-Stiftung wird zum grossen Teil im Kunsthaus Zürich aufbewahrt und in der ständigen Schausammlung präsentiert. Hier ist auch die Verwaltung und die Dokumentation domiziliert. Ein Viertel des ursprünglichen Bestandes wird im Kunstmuseum Basel und zehn Prozent im Kunstmuseum Winterthur gezeigt.


Der Stiftungsrat

Alexander Jolles
Präsident

Dr. Christian Klemm
Vizepräsident


Rudolf Bechtler

Dr. Christoph Becker
Direktor Kunsthaus Zürich

Dr. Anton Bucher-Bechtler

Annette Bühler

Dr. Josef Helfenstein
Direktor Kunstmuseum Basel

RA Prof. Dr. Philippe Meier

Dr. Dieter Schwarz
Direktor Kunstmuseum Winterthur

Peter Steiner

Dr. Peter Uhlmann
Quästor

Dr. Philippe Büttner
Geschäftsführer



Stand: September 2015

Giacometti Selbstbildnis 1921

Selbstbildnis, 1921

ÖI, 82,5 x 72 cm